C.N. Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Martin Rocek Appointed Distinguished Professor

  • Nikita Nekrasov Awarded 2023 Heineman Prize

  • Getting the word out on quantum information

Alexander Zamolodchikov named SUNY Distinguished Professor

E-mail Print PDF

Alexander Zamolodchikov is recognized as a giant in quantum field theory, which is the language of modern theoretical physics. He is associated with foundational advances in theoretical physics, which continue to guide contemporary advances in quantum field theory, as well as the related areas of statistical mechanics, string theory and of mathematics.


Leonardo Rastelli named Simons Investigator

E-mail Print PDF

Leonardo Rastelli is among the select group of physicists named as 2020 Simons Investigators.

"Simons Investigators are outstanding theoretical scientists who receive a stable base of research support from the foundation, enabling them to undertake the long-term study of fundamental questions."


Peter van Nieuwenhuizen Shares $3M Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics for “Invention of Supergravity”. Peter’s work with Dan Freedman and Sergio Ferrara was done at Stony Brook.

E-mail Print PDF

[View the ceremony!]

The Breakthrough Prize cites the “powerful influence" of the supergravity formalism, which provided the first quantum field theory that truly unified gravity with the strong, electromagnetic and weak forces of the Standard Model.   It has served as a link from string theory to many realms of physics and mathematics, with applications to condensed matter and nuclear physics.

This award is only the fifth Special Breakthrough Prize, a category in its own right, and the invention of Supergravity joins the discoveries of gravitational waves, of pulsars, of the Higgs boson, and those of Stephen Hawking, in receiving this recognition.

YITP Associate Sally Dawson of Brookhaven Lab recognized with special DOE Award

E-mail Print PDF

Sally Dawson of BNL has been recognized as a DOE Distinguished Scientists Fellow, one of five nationally.   This program was established by the America COMPETES Act, to support discovery science at National Laboratories.    Sally’s many contributions to particle theory, especially to the theory of the production of the Higgs Boson, are widely known and very influential.   The YITP is proud that Sally has served for a long time as an advisor and collaborator of YITP students.   Her most recent paper with a YITP student is from September, 2019:  “QCD Corrections in SMEFT Fits to WZ and WW production”, in collaboration with Sam Homiller.  Sally will receive $1M in research funding over the next three years to continue her work.


Prof. Vladimir Korepin of the YITP has been awarded a 2019 SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarly Activity

E-mail Print PDF

Prof. Vladimir Korepin of the YITP has been awarded a 2019 SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Research and Scholarly Activity in recognition of his record of wide-ranging and influential research.

The Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activity is a SUNY-wide award intended to recognize consistently outstanding scholarly and creative productivity of its faculty.

Vladimir Korepin has been a Professor at Stony Brook and the C.N. Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics and the Department of Physics and Astronomy since 1989.   He has done important work in quantum gravity, solvable models, statistical mechanics and quantum information.   Vladimir is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, of the Institute of Physics in the United Kingdom, and of the International Association of Mathematical Sciences.


Page 3 of 13