C.N. Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Quantum Information Center Organized with Physics and Astronomy

  • Sam Homiller Wins Department of Energy Graduate Student Research Program Award

  • Martin Rocek Honored by Czech Foundation

Quantum Information Center Organized with Physics and Astronomy

E-mail Print PDF

A team of four Stony Brook physicists, led by Prof. Vladimir Korepin and comprising Profs. Eden Figuera, Dominik Schneble, and Tzu-Chieh Wei has been awarded a SUNY grant for the development of a Center for Quantum Information Science.


Sam Homiller Wins Department of Energy Graduate Student Research Program Award

E-mail Print PDF

Samuel Homiller, one of our PhD students, is among a group of students selected nationally as a recipient of the U.S.  Department of Energy (DOE) Graduate Student Research (SCGSR) Program award. The award supports the research of graduate students in STEM fields with a $3,000 per month stipend and an opportunity to conduct part of their thesis-related research at DOE laboratories. Homiller’s award runs the duration of the 2018-19 academic year.


Martin Rocek Honored by Czech Foundation

E-mail Print PDF

Martin Rocek’s many contributions to theoretical physics have been recognized by the 2017 Neuron Award, an honor presented to seven scientists of Czech background working in natural or social sciences.



Rouven Essig receives grant from Heising-Simons Foundation to Search for Dark Matter

E-mail Print PDF

Uncovering the identity of dark matter, which makes up about 85% of the matter in the Universe, is among the most important goals of particle physics today.  YITP faculty member Rouven Essig, in collaboration with Javier Tiffenberg (Fermilab), has received nearly $1-million from the Heising-Simons Foundation for the SENSEI experiment.  SENSEI (Sub-Electron Noise Skipper-CCD Experimental Instrument) is a novel, ultra-sensitive, table-top direct-detection experiment that will search for two compelling classes of dark matter: Hidden-Sector Dark Matter with MeV-to-GeV masses and Ultralight Dark Matter with eV-to-keV masses. These two classes of dark matter are scientifically well-motivated but remarkably under-explored, and have been receiving increasing attention over the last few years.


In Tribute to Jack Smith (1938-2017) November 10, 2017

E-mail Print PDF

On Friday Nov. 10 a symposium was held in tribute to our late YITP colleague, Jack Smith, organized by some of his friends at Stony Brook and long time colleagues from Europe. Jack’s work in applications of quantum field theory to high energy collisions played a key role in establishing of the Standard Model. Speakers gave their own recollections while recalling landmarks of Jack’s scientific career in historical context. Jack's family was also represented. It should be very interesting for the physics, and for the chance to appreciate a life in physics.

The symposium was held at the Simons Center, Room 102. It began at 9am, continue (with a coffee break) until about noon. An afternoon session at the Center lasted from 2 to approximately 3:30pm. Of course, the sessions were open to all.

  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  4 
  •  5 
  •  6 
  •  7 
  •  8 
  •  9 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »

Page 1 of 9